Golf.

Yesterday I played some golf with my 4 year old. We play 2-3 times per week and will probably play more than that this summer.

Obviously he has a lot of work to do to be any semblance of good. I try and teach him the simple fundamentals of how to stand and where to aim but he forgets or just wants to do things his own way.

As I was reading Proverbs this morning the chapter started, “My son, do not forget my teaching, but keep my commandments in your heart, for they will prolong you life many years and bring peace and prosperity.”

As a FATHER it is my job to be my sons first and best mentor. To teach him correctly so he has the right foundational roots in his life.

While there are many different techniques to the game of golf there is only ONE WAY to be successful at it and that is to get the ball in the hole in as few strokes as possible.

In the same way there are many different techniques to Christianity but there is only ONE WAY to eternal life and that is through Jesus.

It is my responsibility to teach my son that. There are other things I will teach him but if I fail in that one area I have failed. Henry can become a professional golfer and break every record ever but if he doesn’t have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ it’s all for nothing.

Lord, I pray that you would give me the wisdom and insight to correctly point my son and future children to your Son, Jesus. Amen.

 

About robbpaul

I AM...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

