Mavericks.

$(KGrHqZ,!rEE88gWoQIWBPqJCVnvDw~~60_35

Maverick – a rugged individual, one that refuses to abide by the dictates of a group.

I love C. S. Lewis’ writing. The word pictures he painted were unbelievably real. I find his writings on the Creation of Narnia to be the most beautiful thing I have ever read.

In The Magician’s Nephew, he writes about Aslan (God) walking around roaring as if in song and all of the sudden a host of other voices join Him and at the same time stars appear but not just any stars ALL OF THEM. Can you imagine, going from total darkness to all of the stars in the Universe being on display? It would be gloriously blinding.

The reason I think this is so beautiful is because it’s quite possibly the best personification of God creating Creation. He’s out, alone, creating, calling forth things were not and making them be.

In The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, when asked if Aslan is safe, Mr. Beaver responds, “‘Course He isn’t safe, but He’s good. He’s the King, I tell you!”

Today there is a popular uprising in the church in regards to community and that individual success isn’t something that should be sought for but all things for the betterment of the community.

I can’t agree with this. I was told that God created us in His image and Likeness. I’m sorry, I just don’t see God as a Community Organizer. God is a restless, unsafe, unbridled, free, supreme being that created a world of broken, disparaged people so that He could free us through His love and grace.

God isn’t a quiet whisper in a “holy huddle” He’s an ear shattering roar that permeates darkness like the stars when He called them into existence.

Don’t get me wrong, I love and serve my community, but sometimes the best thing I can do for my community is succeed, is create, is be the best version of myself because inspiration through action is God’s model. “Faith without WORKS is dead.”

God is the original Maverick. I strive to be one like Him.

 

P.S. I think I will continue this thought/blog with “The Body of Christ” later this week.

 

 

 

About robbpaul

I AM...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

